Uncovering the gospel

One of the things I have tried to do recently is search for the gospel in culture. I believe our world is struggling to make sense of things, looking for a narrative to hold together all that seems so fractured. And if we look close enough, we see hints of the gospel emerge from the crevices of our culture. I like the music of David Gray. I encountered the gospel today in his song “Flesh”.

As the bell must strike the hour, as the west must stab the sun
So our hearts must heed the flow of deeper tides that run
Far beyond this bare indifference that prosperity esteems
Where the spirit raves and dances through our very veins

At winter’s edge you found me by the fields of wild gold
My hands still filled with ashes from fires long cold
You pulled me from the wreckage of bitterness and blame
Flung open the page, put flesh on the bones of my dreams

On the streets the blossom snowing
And the drum is beating slow, to hear you speak so clear
Well it’s slicing through the fear
Setting all the beacons blazing, baby oh!
It’s staring out plainer than ever
Brighter than all the fools gold that gleams
It’s simply now or never
Putting flesh on the bones of my dreams

Putting flesh on the bones of my dreams
Putting flesh on the bones of my dreams

And they can plunder the cave of sorrows
They can strip the gallery bare
Try to build a fence around the visions in our heads
Choke every spark in a cloak of despair
But we got something they can’t stifle
With their price tags and picture frames
Got a flower for every rifle
Putting flesh on the bones of my dreams

Putting flesh on the bones of my dreams
Putting flesh on the bones of my dreams

Leave a Reply

