When vertical becomes horizontal

photoFor over two years, every week, with only a few exceptions, I have spent a couple hours talking life with Anthony Giambroni. Our relationship started with a vertical church leader/church member dynamic, but has over time has become a horizontal friend/friend relationship. For me, this is the goal for all mentoring relationships (though it is often elusive to attain). Anthony has become such a close friend that I forget he is nine years younger than me! He is a man of integrity and character. He seeks after the Lord. He desires the things of God. And I am thrilled he is joining full-time staff with h2o this summer! It’s been a privilege- one of my greatest since entering ministry- to be a part of his journey to maturity in Christ. I look forward to seeing how he continues to develop as a leader and servant in the years to come. I am blessed to share life with Anthony and other godly men who challenge me to greater faithfulness and service as a husband, dad, pastor, and friend.

2 thoughts on “When vertical becomes horizontal

  1. Eric says:

    Great post! Short, sweet, simple… and yet also profound. I know that phenomenon of vertical-to-horizontal very well — and I count it as one of the greatest miracles of ministry!

  2. Jason says:

    I love the reminder of one of the great joys of being involved with campus ministry. You’re great at this type of discipleship!

Leave a comment